It’s Not You, It’s Me.

Boneheads, we need to talk. And I’m not going to give you the “it’s not you, it’s me” routine. I invented “it’s not you, it’s me.”

When I started this blog, I thought to myself that writing a Go Time and Review post every other day would be no sweat. I even thought I would be able to do more writing than that. Instead, I’ve learned how little free time I actually have. I tried yesterday to get in front of a late night at work by writing up my “Go Time” thread early, only for it to be rendered completely inaccurate by McDonagh’s late scratch.  I tried this morning to watch Rangers in 60 to catch the first two periods that I missed last night, but while chasing around two boys intent on smashing anything in sight, including each other, I couldn’t tell you about much that happened outside of the goals.

So my originally intentions have been dashed.  My wife, who was incredibly patient with how much time I was putting into this and my domination of the remote during Rangers’ games, will only put up with so much neglect before she leaves me with much more free time than I would want.

But I recognize that this place is still important, if only to keep us all in one place until Carp potentially does something new involving the Rangers.   So I’m asking for some of you to get more involved on a more permanent basis. Weekends are particularly difficult for me, so anyone who doesn’t have trouble on the weekends would be a TREMENDOUS help.  If I lessen the load on some set days, it would make it a lot easier for me to take more on during the others.  Either e-mail me (rangersreport2@gmail.com or my personal e-mail, if you’ve got it), tweet me (@rangersreport2) or just leave a note in the comments. I still want to involve as many volunteers and guest blogs as possible, but to have another steady presence would really help.

Nobody tells me it’s not them, it’s me. If it’s anybody, it’s me!

115 thoughts on “It’s Not You, It’s Me.”

  1. Doodie
    You’ve been doing HAV awesome! I’d love to help, but I have minimal free time outside of work and less at work (not one of the lucky ones who have a desk to sit at, I work in a warehouse).

    Most games I watch are dvr’d so by the time I’d really get to anything would be far later than is acceptable

    Like

  2. Doodie, how about you stop worrying about it too much altogether. We are more than greatful for what you’ve done already. Most of our needs are pretty much satisfied by having this place so we can discuss, complain, disagree with each other, do line combos, dislike certain players, and exchange g(j)ibberish. Everything else is a bonus. i have no idea how you do it as it is knowing how busy you’re at home. I know I couldn’t.
    If there is a content within a Go Time post, it’s a bonus. If there is a game review, by anyone, it’s a bonus. If not, we can still discuss. So stop worrying about it, we are more than grateful for what you’ve done already.

    Liked by 8 people

  3. I know that I speak for everyone in saying that we appreciate all of the time and work you have put into our new home – even if it is a HAV 🙂

    All HAV joking aside, no expects (or expected) you to do as much as you have. There is no reason to stress yourself, Mrs. RR2 or the kids. I think we would all be fine with a “Go Time” thread without any detailed analysis – unless you actually have the time.

    Sadly, my game review days seem to be over since the demise of the Iona College hockey team – plus I just don’t have the patience to pay that close attention for a full 60. Plus, I wouldn’t be able to get anything up until the next morning anyway.

    I could probably step in with some blog “articles”, but I am still having problems getting my own blog going again.

    I am not sure how WordPress works but would it be possible to give a couple of other Boneheads administrative access as a means of lessening your burden? Is there anyone else on this Blog that has access to the NHL Media site? I am guessing we could take their Game Notes, although they are quite detailed. I wonder if we linked to them if readers would be able to view them – access or not.

    If anyone else has any other ideas, please share.

    Like

  4. Here’s all that is needed. For game threads “It’s Go Time. Game’s starting.”

    For post game – Post the score. That’s it and we’ll all discuss the game.

    Really, I think you have tried to recreate Carp’s blog and it’s not necessary. Just a new post every now and then is all that is needed so we don’t have to wade through 350 comments.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Doodie – first, chillax. If you need a herbal remedy to gain relief fly yo azz out to the crib and I’ll hookah you up, my brutha from anutha mutha. Second, my semester is nearly over and I’m hip to writing reviews for any/all Saturday/Sunday games if that helps yo azz. Third, it seems that my Utha bruthas from Utha Muthas James G, Alex, and my main utha brutha SN can chip in with some series verbiage to keep this raft afloat. You dig?

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I’m ready to busta rhyme, it’s high time, nickel and dime, lemon and lime, bells that chime, gooey slime, commit no crime, hill to climb, talking mime…..

    Boyeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

    Like

  7. This blog has truly been awesome. The reviews, including guest reviews, have been insightful and very amusing. A great testimonial to Carp. It generally has been a much better read than the game stories in the NY papers.

    Perhaps with a few volunteers we can get game reviews for at least many of the games. Whatever can be done is better than nothing so please don’t give up.

    Like

  8. We also should consider a weekly blog post dedicated to Hank’s winning smile and his incredibly perfect coif. That hair is first ballot HoF material.

    Like

  9. Let’s start a petition asking Hank to remove his hemet/mask while in goal whenever the up pick is in the other zone. One camera can stay focused on him as he strikes various poses.

    Like

  10. I’ll tell you one thing we will lead the league in this year by a wide margin – unnecessary icings. Skate the puck out and pad your Time of Possession stats. It’s amazing what can happen when you have the puck on your sticks for an extra 90 seconds each game

    Like

  11. That was an awesome (in the actual sense–I’m awed) post to read. To know that you cared that deeply about the quality and consistency of this HAV is truly impressive. And I’m with others, I think, in saying there doesn’t always need to be a write-up. I might even do a mildly fictionalized one myself some day–I can’t always rely on being able to watch entire games, being married myself!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I kid I kid! I basically agree with everyone. Don’t worry, be happy! Since I, and a few other posters have editing powers, If you need help posting a new post, let me know. I’ll shoot you an email later.

    Like

  13. Cccp – are you saying that if I write a guest post, I can email it to you, full of filthy disgusting words, and you’ll print it unedited?

    Like

  14. agree with Cross Check, CCCP, E3 and 2 other posters than haven’t replied yet. Very hard to replicate the old blog when Carp was running it as part of his full time gig.
    .
    Go Time and Score posts; if CCCP has editing/admin rights maybe links to write ups by NYR beat reporters but outside of some welcome guest reviews, I would not stress it. Your sons are much more important than this.
    .
    On a more serious note

    Liked by 2 people

  15. As great as Carps write-ups were, the comment section provided a decent percentage of enjoyment.

    Post a review when you or a side volley can, otherwise have someone with admin post a score & any other easy peasy notes and let the bone heads at it.

    Like

  16. Sounds like a line from MacBeth

    To rip Glass or not to rip Glass? Out, out, brief candle! Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player that struts and frets his hour upon the stage and then is heard no more: it is a tale told by an idiot, full of sound and fury, signifying nothing

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Doodie is lame. If this were my blog, I’d be putting out 700 word essays on the state of ranger-land every 20 minutes….

    Like

  18. As long as there is a pre-game and next-day (with the score) thread available, the notes/review part are certainly optional. I did a serious blog for about 8 years, stopped for 5 and now have something going again (though paying for bills here and there). People do not realize the time committement to do anything beyond utter crap. And its draining. You have the whole thing in your head but there is no magic brain dump button to get it in text!

    Hopefully the boneheads on here can chip in a review from time to time too. Don’t sweat any of it, you’ve done much just be giving us all a home of sorts.

    Like

  19. You’ve done a great job getting this up and running. I only work part time and my kids are long gone so I could help out sometimes. If we write and you post does that make your life easier?

    Back to hockey. Is Hank in tomorrow night?

    Like

  20. Redacted
    Go time and new post notifications are really all that are needed imho (unless some crazy news pops up…AV fired, a trade, hank kidnaps raanta, etc. Stuff worthy of a new post).

    Like

  21. We love it all and eat up whatever is served. But we can get by on meager rations. As long as we can gather together, we will all have our fill.

    Or what eric said.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Eric, on a different note, 5th in Metro may not be the end of the world this year. I think there will be 5 teams from Metro in the playoffs this year. You may want to find a different line….

    Liked by 1 person

  23. This HAV has been an awesome place so far. Wish I could be the guy but I end up airborne for about 200K actual flight miles every year. The weekends are actually good for me as I am usually home and can catch the games therein. If you carry on with “In Review” articles, I can write some on the weekends.

    Like

  24. Doodie this HAV provides me FA entertainment, and I’m greatful that you took the wheel of the SS Bonehead to keep it sailing ahead full steam (or half lol). If you keep doing even half of what you’ve done so far we’d all be thrilled. That being said I’d be happy to try & do a simple go time or a QAV game review here or there when E3 is not stuck on the can. I probably won’t be able to pitch in til after the new year since that’s when Mrs Headzo will be back to her biz travel and I can focus on said games (she likes to invade my man-cave & cuddle when home) I’ll email you when ready. In the meantime I’d take E3’s offer to go chill with him. I hear his “organic garden” has some nice Kevin Hayes approved offerings. I’d probably avoid his prunes though.
    .

    Like

  25. Have I told you lately, that I love this HAV.
    Hey, If you need me to spoof read, err, poof ,er I mean pruch read, I’m really good at that.
    But seriously Thanks again. And any help needed let me know

    Like

  26. Agree completely with Cross Check and all the others who’ve mentioned it – just put a new post up with the score, don’t worry about spending the time if you don’t have it.
    22nd Jan and 5th Feb i could help out – due to them being afternoon games

    Like

  27. Exactly ilb. The best place to be would be 4th in metro and first wild card which gets you the crossover vs most likely Montreal instead of 5th in metro 2nd wildcard most likely metro winner which I would think when dust settles Pittsburgh. Avoid metro and let those teams knock each other off.

    Though can we beat price 4 times in a playoff series under my scenario.

    Like

  28. I always say that I do not evaluate the players or plays while I watch the games. I’m not an X’s and O’s guy when it comes to hockey. Still, I know a player is ineffective when I see one. I’m glad to see AV saw him too (Jensen) and sent him down. This guy is not an NHL player. I couldn’t understand him getting power play time.

    I would think Hank gets the start tonight even though Raanta played very well in the loss against Chicago. You just can keep hair like that out of the lineup for just so long.

    Like

  29. Good to see Carp is ready to pitch in a bit. Sometimes its best to get right back on the horse. Some of the other bloggers here are actually funnier but a little loopy. A mix would be great.

    Perhaps post an email address where us amateurs can take a shot a game review and it can be posted if deemed worthy.

    Like

  30. Comparing Our game reviews to Carps is like comparing your kids’ macaroni glued onto construction paper to the Mona Lisa

    Like

  31. Interesting that you brought up one of our “favorites”, Chris Neil. Last night Ottawa honored him for playing his 1,000 NHL game. The players talked coach Gut Boucher into letting Neil tale one of the shootout attempts – he didn’t score – and the Sharks won the Bettman Point. Imagine what happens if the Senators miss the playoffs by one point.

    Like

  32. Doodie, you can spend about 1 hour creating 42 blank posts (maybe include the opponent in the headline) and scheduling them to publish X amount of time before the game on any date. That’s the most auto-pilot I think you can get. I’m happy to help and I’m sure plenty of others would, also.

    Like

  33. Apparently, Puemple is almost ready to return. The problem I see is what do you do with him? I think he’s about as good as Jensen and should accompany him in Hartford. If they put him back in the lineup who do you sit? Lindberg would probably be the one, but is he worse than Puemple?

    Like

  34. I would have preferred Jensen to Puempel. The problem with Puempel is that we would have to waive him to send him the AHL and he would almost certainly be claimed, particularly by Ottawa.

    Like

  35. Puempel is carrying $900K cap hit. But because of his waiver status, they can’t send him down. They will probably send Hrivik down once everyone is healthy. Except Hrivik deserves to stay in the lineup.

    Like

  36. Pimple hasn’t shown much; supposed to have a quick release and good shot but not very impressed, especially on 4th line (not a traditional 4th), but haven’t seen him make too many plays and gets squeezed on the wall.
    .
    Came up as a Center; wonder if would be better than Pirri who can barely turn on his skates. Must have great hands because his feet are pretty stiff.

    Like

  37. Ribbit is playing well; like him carrying the puck more in Ozone. Wonder if the two swedes are making him look good as Oscar has rounded into form and Couch is full steam ahead all the time.

    Like

  38. I hope so, Doodie. And you are right, Ottawa would probably claim him back and send him down because he won’t need to clear waivers again if they claim him.

    Like

  39. Falling in love with a checking winger again. Hrivek is an AHL player. He brings nothing to the table they don’t already have. You want to play him instead of Pirri? Why? This is a speed and skill league. Hrivek has no skill, and so so speed. I am amazed that there are some guys who don’t see what a bonus a guy like Pirri is on the 4th.

    Like

  40. As far as Puemple goes, I would like to see more before I give up him. Put him in a position to succeed, instead of the 4th line.

    Like

  41. BDL- Pirri needs to score to stay in. His skating is questionable, he isn’t a speed guy at all. At the moment, he lost any confidence in his shot. He really doesn’t bring much else to the table. But I agree, if you hope that he hits his hot streak again, he needs to stay in.

    Like

  42. What is played well? Played well for a 4th liner? Played well for an AHLer? Played well for an NHLer? I would always gamble on skill (Puemple, Pirri) over a player whose ceiling is that of a checker with no skill (Hrivek).

    Like

  43. Forb the record, I’m worried about Buchnevich being able to be a regular this year. Strengthening his core isn’t going to fix protruding disk. It will have to be repaired at some point.

    Like

  44. Ilb,
    Pirri, like a lot of Ranger forwards, has been hurt by all the injuries. If you look at it closer, you will see that Zucc, miller, Hayes, and Grabner have all slowed since the injury bug hit.

    Like

  45. I am in no way convinced that Puemple is going to find it. I would just rather take a chance on him finding his way, than having yet another player who can’t shoot his way out of a paper bag.

    Like

  46. BDl- I think Pirri cooled off before the injury bug hit. Besides, his main weapon is his shot from the L circle on PP. He’s been avoiding shooting because his confidence in his own is shut. He doesn’t add any speed to this team, and his defense is suspect, even though he’s been trying hard to improve in that area. But he’s been on and off guy all his career, so let’s hope he turns it around

    Like

  47. Zuuuc hasn’t scored in 14 games and Stepan’s streak is at 5 (scored against Carolina on the 3rd). It would be nice to see both get off the schneid tonight.

    Like

  48. Pirri had 5 goals and 5 assists in the 19 games Zibanijad played. Since that injury, he has 1 goal and 1 assist in 12 games. I would say that injury has had an effect on him as well as others.

    Like

  49. Counting flowers on the wall
    That don’t bother me at all
    Playing solitaire till dawn
    With a deck of 51
    Smoking cigarettes and watching
    Captain KANGaroo
    Don’t tell me
    I’ve nothing to do

    Like

  50. Wicky – Couch is playing well; he is a bottom 6 contributor for an AV team which has a top 12 and no checking line. Somebody has to play PK and provide some forecheck.
    Like Oscar is back throwing the body around. It stands out on this team.

    Like

Leave a Reply

